Benefits in a Workers’ Compensation Case
In South Carolina, any employer with four or more employees has to provide workers’ compensation benefits if they become injured while on the job with some exceptions. It is provided either through private insurance companies or the state through their assigned risk program. To ensure that your employer carries this coverage, workers can check to see if they are covered in the event of an accident injury at wccv.com. If you do happen to suffer a work injury, knowing what you are entitled to receive as benefits is helpful, and if you have a problem or aren’t receiving what you think you should, Morris Law is here to help.
Morris Law – Your Workers’ Compensation Attorneys in South Carolina
We are committed to protecting the rights of our clients at Morris Law. We provide compassion and determination in order to get our clients what they deserve when they’ve been injured on the job. We can discuss your legal needs with a free consultation at Morris Law in Myrtle Beach or Aiken. Call us at (843) 232-0944, or contact us online at any time to get started.
Benefits Under South Carolina’s Workers’ Compensation System
Workers in South Carolina are entitled to the following benefits under workers’ compensation laws:
- Compensation rates: Beginning on Jan. 1, 2019, the maximum compensation weekly rate became $845.74 or 66 ⅔ percent of the worker’s weekly wage when averaged out. However, the compensation cannot be more than the weekly wage averaged out for the year before.
- Medical benefits: Your workers’ comp benefits will pay all your necessary medical costs. However, to be covered, your employer must authorize the treatment. When it has been authorized, if the medical care facility you are going to is over 10 miles away, your mileage is compensated.
- Benefits for temporary disability: Workers who cannot return to the job right away may be eligible for temporary disability benefits, which cover part of their wages. However, they do not receive these benefits during the first week unless their inability to work extends for more than two weeks.
- Benefits for a temporary partial disability: These benefits cover those workers who go back to work but cannot earn their previous wages. Usually, this is due to restrictions placed on the injured worker by the physician such as limited hours, inability to lift, and others. Temporary partial disability provides a payment of ⅔ of the amount previously earned for up to 85 months.
- Benefits for temporary total disability: These benefits provide for ⅔ of a worker’s wage weekly which they earned prior to their injury. The maximum benefit became $903.40 on January 1, 2021.
- Benefits for permanent disability: After your medical treatment is finished, the physician evaluates you to determine if you qualify for workers’ comp permanent disability benefits. Qualifiers include loss of two body parts or half the strength in the back. Benefits are equal to temporary total payments with the same limits for up to 500 weeks. If the worker’s injury is more serious such as suffering permanent brain trauma or becoming a paraplegic or quadriplegic, benefits are awarded for the injured party’s lifetime.
- Benefits for the death of the worker: The family of the deceased worker receives the same award as someone who would receive a total disability for 500 weeks. It is divided between the surviving family members. Burial expenses are covered for up to $12,000.
Morris Law Firm in Myrtle Beach for Your Workers’ Comp Needs
When you’ve been injured at work and want to file for workers’ compensation or your claim was rejected, call the Morris Law Firm to get the help you need. Our phone number is (843) 232-0944, and we are also available online.