Car accident injury law in South Carolina covers all traffic accidents involving a motor vehicle.
From 2014 through 2018, the number of automobile accidents increased in South Carolina. There were 142,406 traffic collisions reported in South Carolina during 2018, including 969 fatal collisions. In Horry County, there were 10,319 collisions reported in 2018. The Myrtle Beach Police Department and North Myrtle Beach Police Department investigated 2,675 of those collisions.
If you are injured in a Myrtle Beach car accident lawyers, you could be entitled to compensation for your injuries. Damages for a car accident claim might include:
- Loss of income and benefits
- Medical expenses and bills
- Pain and suffering
- Disabilities and permanent impairment
- A decrease in earning potential
Before you file a car accident claim in Myrtle Beach, there are three essential things that you should know about car accident injury law in South Carolina.
Car Accident Injury Law in South Carolina
Three things to keep in mind when filing an auto accident claim in Myrtle Beach are:
1. South Carolina is an at-fault state for car accidents.
All drivers in South Carolina are required to carry minimum liability car insurance coverage. Liability coverage compensates accident victims when you cause a car crash. However, car accident injury law in South Carolina requires that you prove that the other driver caused the accident to recover compensation for your damages. Without evidence proving fault, the insurance company and the other driver may not be responsible for your damages.
2. Your time to file a personal injury lawsuit is limited.
Generally, the statute of limitations or deadline for filing a car accident lawsuit in South Carolina is three years after the date of the car wreck. If you do not file a lawsuit within the three years, you lose your right to pursue a claim against the at-fault party through the courts.
However, some exceptions could lengthen or shorten the deadline to file a personal injury lawsuit. It is best to contact a Myrtle Beach car accident lawyer as soon as possible if you are injured in a car crash. The lawyer handles all aspects of your personal injury claim, including calculating and monitoring deadlines for filing various claims or lawsuits.
3. You may be entitled to compensation for damages, even if you contributed to the cause of the crash.
Car accident injury law in South Carolina allows for accident victims to recover compensation for damages, even if they are partially at fault for the cause of the crash. The modified comparative fault laws in South Carolina reduce the amount of compensation the victim receives by the victim's percentage of fault for causing the crash.
However, South Carolina has a 51 percent bar rule for comparative fault cases. If you are more than 51 percent at fault for the cause of a car accident, you cannot receive any money for your injuries or damages from the other driver.
Contact Our Myrtle Beach Car Accident Lawyers for a Free Consultation
When you hire a personal injury attorney to handle your accident claim, they handle everything regarding the claim. You do not need to worry about researching and understanding car accident injury law in South Carolina.
If a car accident caused your injuries, contact us now. Schedule a free consultation with an experienced car accident lawyer in Myrtle Beach.